

2011 - 2012 INTERNATIONAL ARCHAEOMETRY AWARD

The Laboratory of Archaeometry at the Department of History, Archaeology and Cultural Resources Management, University of the Peloponnese, initiated the establishment of an international award entitled

COSTA NAVARINO – INTERNATIONAL ARCHAEOMETRY AWARD

having as the main aim the biannual nomination with this price to international acknowledged scholars activated at the fields of *Archaeometry* and *Archaeological Science*.

MEMBERS OF THE INTERNATIONAL COMMITTEE

PROF. C. RENFREW, PROF. P. BETANCOURT, PROF. G. WAGNER, PROF. TH. REHREN, PROF. P. THEMELIS, PROF. A. SAVVIDES,

ASSOC. PROF. I. KAKOULLI, Dr. X. ARAPOGIANNI, ASSIST. PROF. N. ZACHARIAS (President)

The first nomination took place at the Amphitheatre of the University School at Kalamata, on Friday December 3, 2010.

The award was given to Professor **Ioannis Liritzis**, University of the Aegean for his internationally distinguished level of scientific work and utmost contribution to the promotion of Archaeometry in Greece and Internationally



The award was handed by Captain V. Konstantakopoulos founder and president of COSTA NAVARINO.

Prof. I. Liritzis presented a review lecture on the top most activities in Archaeometry and its' vision for the future of the field. A closing speech was made by the Rector of the University of the Peloponnese, Prof. Th. Papatheodorou.

During the ceremony, the members of the Int. Committee Prof P. Themelis, Dr X. Arapogianni and Assist Prof N. Zacharias (President and Founder) were present and greeted the ceremony.

